In class we just watched a documentary called Generation Jobless. It was about how there aren't enough jobs for youth and that unemployment for graduates is increasing. My thoughts on this are that, it's true. I agree a university degree is just a ticket into debt. My mother took University for 4 years after being accepted for going back to college for a few years. But after all that work she doesn't have a job and is 42 years old. She is in a lot of debt and can't afford to pay it off. She handed out hundreds of resume's but she is jobless and broke. So basically, she got f**ked. Imagine how it is for the thousands of students graduating that don't have that career experience. How can somebody get experience if they don't get an opportunity for it?

    For me personally, I want to become a tattoo artist. And I hope to get an apprenticeship as soon as possible. I am working on my portfolio right now. I don't plan on doing too much college or university. Because I saw how much my mother struggled during university. She barely had time to speak, she was constantly doing work and studying. That would personally drive me to ram my head into a wall, especially when I most likely won't have the slightest care about what I'm studying or what I want to work as. Not the SLIGHTEST bit of passion. It seems like if I fail as a tattoo artist I will fail in the world and will be working picking up scraps for money the rest of my life. So I have to succeed. Ain't a damn thing thousands of dollars for a class can do to teach me how to use a tattoo needle and expand my artistic abilities. It's a joke. A scam. I want 1. A job that pays well that I enjoy, and 2. To not have to go to school ever again. But if it doesn't work out. I do what I gotta do. And I'll have to live the rest of my life waking up every morning with no sense of happiness in me to work a job I don't enjoy the slightest bit.
person
5/2/2013 04:10:53 am

Great blog.I hope you succeed as a tattoo artist. It's good that you already have a plan in mind. In my case, I have no clue what I'm going to do after I graduate. Please write more blogs like this.

Reply
Tyler
5/6/2013 03:24:26 am

Gracias hermano! And become a stock broker

Reply
Tyler
5/6/2013 03:25:22 am

Unless you're a girl, then hermana* haha

Reply
Corey G.
5/12/2013 10:46:54 pm

I want to go to university for science but your blog brings up a good point on that now i have to think of other ways just in case

Reply



Leave a Reply.